§ 9.030. Civil Service Commission: Number, appointment, qualifications, terms, compensation of members  

Latest version.
  • 1. A Civil Service Commission is created to carry out the provisions of this article. The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council.

    2. Members must:

    (a) Be residents of the City.

    (b) Have no other connection with the City government.

    (c) Hold no elective office.

    (d) Serve for terms of five years.

    (e) Receive compensation as provided by City ordinance.

    3. One term of office shall begin on the second Monday in July in each successive year. A member shall serve until his successor is appointed and qualified. A vacancy occurring during a term must be filled by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council for the remainder of that term.

(Added—Ch. 553, Stats. 1973 p. 884; A—Ch. 373, Stats. 1979 p. 646; Ch. 89, Stats. 1995 p. 109)